top of page
  • Writer's picturePintosHost

Tips for when everything is so busy!

I’m so tired.. the last few weeks have been busy and full of focusing on the family. First, Amelia came down with a virus and then Kasi had a middle ear infection. If that wasn’t enough, how about we throw in a side of bullying that my girls had to endure. That’s an exhausting annoyance to handle if I do say so myself.


We had our granddaughter, Charlie, the weekend before last. THEN, my Mimi slipped on the ice (yeah we had a blip of cold weather for a second) and fell on her porch trying to get her newspaper from the sidewalk. She’s ok, just so you know. I was able to get the newspaper deliverer to put the paper right on the porch so she wouldn’t have to go far. I had a planned trip to go visit my dad in Austin this past weekend which I did and it was wonderful…



Fortunately, not all was lost as far as progress goes. The weekend we had Charlie and the ear infection, we cleaned out Amelia’s room and rearranged her furniture. We went completely “minimalist” on it and she is EXTREMELY happy with it. It also helped me mentally prepare for what I want to do throughout the rest of the house. We’re just taking baby steps though… one room a weekend is all we really can do for the most part. Not to mention, we only have eight weeks until the wedding!


3 tips for when everything is so busy –

  1. Stop. Something I learned from my dad within the last few years (I didn’t start really listening until I was about 31 or 32…) is the first step is to NOT PANIC. My girls will start flipping out and I’ll ask them “What’s the first step?” and they’ll answer “Don’t panic”. More times than not, they will take a deep breath and calm down. Panicking does no one any good. You can’t make any good decisions when you’re all frazzled.

  2. Focus. What needs to get done immediately? Put everything in order of priority on a mental list (or on paper). Calmly and carefully, make your way through the list. Once you start marking things off, your busy, chaotic surroundings will hopefully begin to settle.

  3. Realize. Another thing I learned from my dad is “You can do everything, just not all at the same time.” Breathe. Is the thing that you’re frantic about going to matter in a year? 6 months? A week? A day?! If so, do what YOU can. Putting strain on yourself and stressing out wanting to get everything done immediately will not help you accomplish ANYTHING.



13 views0 comments
bottom of page